*chirp*chirp*

It was a feeling I learned in my slumber long before I would come to live it, as if my subconscious was preparing me for the trials I would soon face.

I called out– but no sound would come.
I shouted and screamed and hollered, but I floated like a ghost through my own dreams, unheard, and ceasing to be seen, as consciousness pulled me back to reality.

This is a feeling that would become all too familiar as excess production of acetylcholinesterase blocks transmissions in my neuro-muscular system… but at the time, I knew it only as silence.

Silence is not a fleeting moment, a fad, a fashion statement you wear for one night on the town. Fools, said I, you do not know, silence like a cancer grows.

The thing about silence– only the silent can hear it.
To utter its name, is to shatter its effect.

A peace spoken, is a silence broken.
…and thus concludes this moment of silence.

Leave a Reply

